Recap from 30 weeks and 31 weeks

 

The last couple of weeks have been a bit of a challenge, and I feel very lucky to have the little challenges that I have faced as there are worst things that can happen in pregnancy.

Over the last couple of weeks I have really struggled with my breathing, I am asthmatic and originally thought this was exactly what was wrong. I was sitting in work and felt as though something was sitting above my chest, it was so tight and just like with my asthma when I panic it got worse. So I got a last minute appointment at my doctors surgery, they could only give me one with a nurse who ended up having to get a doctor in to advise. He did all the tests checking my peak flow, listened to my chest, he couldn’t really give me an answer. This was all on a Monday so he said to go home and if I felt I was not any better then I was to go back to Wednesday. They said I may need a short course of steroids but because I was pregnant he did not really want to do that.

So I went home and worried about what was going to happen, simply going up the stairs or a short five minute walk was exhausting me. Sitting at my desk most of the day was hurting my hips and back to the stage I was either crying in the toilet on my lunch break or as soon as I reached my car at the end of the day. So by Wednesday I needed an answer. Trying to get an appointment wasn’t the easiest as apparently they have no doctors until late afternoon in surgery, which made me wonder why he even asked me to go back on a Wednesday but anyway I ended up seeing the locum and she was incredible. She put my mind at rest she checked my blood pressure, oxygen levels, checked my temperature, listened to babys heartbeat, and checked what position she was in. The only thing she could think of was that although my iron levels were fine they were 15 off of the average so she has given me a course of iron tablets. I was to take a week off work to see how I felt and she advised that if after a week off I was feeling better then not to go back to work and take maternity leave early. Of course I then decided after week off to go back to work because I really didn’t want to take maternity leave early, which I have chosen to do anyway, 8 weeks until due date so very early but I am looking forward to relaxing and getting prepared for our little one arriving.

Since taking everything at a slower pace I have felt much better, so I just have three more shifts at work left to get through.

Baby is developing well, I love seeing my bump grow, although I do feel like I am getting more stretch marks that I would like but at least I know it is because she is growing and developing ready for her arrival!

 

P.S. I did eventually get the whooping cough vaccine, a post to come on that!

How far along: Today I am exactly 32 weeks
Next appointment: Wednesday the 13th of April
Exercise: Last Monday I had my last yoga class, so have been practicing what I learned in class at home
Maternity clothes: I got a new maternity bra from bravissimo as mine was getting far too tight
Any Baby/Pregnancy-Related Purchases? We received a large bag of knitted baby clothes from baby’s nan and I tough a thermometer for the bath from Tesco
Sleep: Mostly I have been sleeping well, but I have found it a struggle since the clocks going forward to get to sleep early
Food cravings: At the weekend I had a huge craving for chips and cheese, that I ended up behaving like a two year old having a tantrum
Food aversions: nothing
Symptoms: Restricted breathing
What I’m looking forward to: Going on maternity leave and getting to focus on bump and I
Best moment this week: Feeling her kicks get